New FDA Web Page Lists Key FSMA Rules Compliance Dates

Since its inception in 2011, the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) has become a vital part of preventing issues and increasing accountability in food production. However, with these changes to food safety laws also comes the difficulty of understanding and implementing the laws correctly.

To help minimize confusion, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has launched a new resource on its website—a page including dates for the following six out of seven FSMA rules, listed in the order in which they become final:

  • Preventive Controls for Human Food
  • Preventive Controls for Animal Food
  • Produce Safety
  • Foreign Supplier Verification
  • Sanitary Transportation
  • Intentional Adulteration

The page breaks down each rule by considerations such as business size, providing both original and extended FSMA rules compliance dates. The FDA has also provided this graphic timeline with key dates for FSMA rules until 2024.

Visit the FSMA homepage for more resources and request a demo to see how Presage can help you with FSMA compliance.